Inspiring Inclusion

I find myself writing this blog post during an incredible International Women’s Day weekend. Sat at Olaf’s Tun in Woolston where all the taps are showcasing IWD brews, or beers from breweries championed by inspirational women, I find myself wondering which beer I’d like to try next. But this year’s IWD celebrations have been quite different for me compared to other years.

Our Lost and Grounded IWD beer pouring at Olaf’s Tun

I’ve always been an advocate for women’s equality in the beer industry and have actively seeked out beers or events that represent this. Whether it be for International Women’s Day or initiatives such as Brave Noise, I’ve often tried to attend as many of the beer launches and celebrations as possible. This year, however, I’ve found myself actually involved in organising and executing a IWD beer.

My time at Lost and Grounded Brewers has given me some amazing opportunities but I’ve never been prouder than being involved in our first IWD beer. From the initial conception, discussing the recipe, brew day, brand design and finally organising our own IWD beer launch party, it’s been amazing to share this experience with my fellow female colleagues. When I took to Twitter (X) to share our launch event on Friday, I found myself pushing back a lump in my throat as the emotion on what we had achieved flooded over me. Similar to the feeling I felt that evening at our taproom event, watching the room buzzing with activity and great vibes.

The Lost and Grounded crew at our IWD Brew Day

This experience has been such an exciting collaborative project and one I hope we can grow in the years to come. There are so many incredible women within beer, all of whom I aspire to, and I still can’t quite believe that I get to play a part in this incredible movement. Hopefully we can inspire many more to continue reshaping the future of the beer industry in a positive, diverse and inclusive way.

Leave a comment